National Medal of Science, bestowed by President Obama, 2016.
Elected to the National Academy of Medicine, 1989.
Award for Outstanding Lifetime Contribution to Psychology, American Psychological Association, 2004.
Lifetime Career Award, International Union of Psychological Science, 2012.
Interamerican Psychology Award, Interamerican Society of Psychology, 2009.
Grawemeyer Award, Grawemeyer Foundation, 2008.
Everett M. Rogers Award, Norman Lear Center for Entertainment and Society, 2007.
McGovern Medal for Distinguished Contribution to Health Promotion Science, 2004.
Sustained Distinguished Contributions Award, Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies, 2015.
Healthtrac Award for Distinguished Contributions to Health Promotion, 2002.
Distinguished Achievement Alumni Award, University of Iowa, 2005.
Award for distinguished health behavior research, American Academy of Health Behavior, 2005.
Honorary Fellow, World Innovation Foundation, 2004.
William James Award, American Psychological Society, 1989.
Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award, American Psychological Association, 1980.
Distinguished Contribution Award, International Society for Research on Aggression, 1980.
Lifetime Achievement Award, Western Psychological Association, 2003.
Distinguished Lifetime Contributions Award, California Psychological Association, 1998.